xfree86 setup help

hello all, i just installed redhat linux, and i am a real noob, so i have some questions. the system that it is installed on is my 9100 in my sig.

first, i would like to know how i should setup xfree86 with my video card, and monitor. i cant figure out what values i should use for horizontal refresh, and how do i add support for a 1280x800 resolution?

i found this calculator, but are these the values that i am looking for?
http://www.myhometheater.homestead.com/bandwidthcalculator.html
vertical refresh rate is 60hz btw

thanks for your help guys :)

you should be able to find the horizontal refresh rates from your monitor manufacturer, it's not a setting that's unique to your video card.

i've never used nonstandard geometries before, so i can't comment on that.

the thing is, i dont know who my panel manufaturer is since its in the laptop. i have looked in the owners manual, and of course, dell doesnt tell you horizontal refresh rates. :rolleyes:

You could always try to leave that information out, and let it autodetect.

Just as a reference, here's my XF86Config:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0    #This might be unneccesarily messy
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "xtrap"
        Load  "type1"
        Load  "speedo"
EndSection

# You'll definitely need to change this section
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "Auto"
        Option      "Emulate3Buttons" #Unneccesary, I think.
        Option      "Device" "/dev/sysmouse" #This _has_ to be changed.
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #For me, this makes the wheel just work. YMMV.
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"