Windows XP Media Center Edition

Garage81

Mac Daddy
I have a license and a copy of XP media center edition (gotta love msdn).

What tv tuner do you all recommend? And you can still use the PC like windows XP right?

Anyone have any good link / sites? Im a total newb into this.

Microsoft's website states which hardware is compatible.

If I recall correctly, the ATI AIW cards are NOT compatible.

Start here and see if it gets you the answers you need.

Yes MCE will work with AIW cards but don't even bother with it, SarverSystems posted a good link so look there.

Is it the 2004 version? If so you could get an ATI E-Home Wonder (Newegg has them for like $78ish- Get the one with FM first though) which is would work great on the cheap side but you should really get a Hauppauge 250MCE card if you can spring for the extra cost (they're like $120ish) but personlly I'd try to get a 250MCE and an E-Home Wonder since I have a few things I'd like to hookup (I have quite a few consile game systems) and the 250MCE's inputs are all rendered in MPEG2 meaning that there is a lag of a few seconds (like three).

I have the 2002 version, and also the 2004 upgrade.

I'm leaning towards the hippauage 250, as I currently have a 9800np.

Wish I could find something cheaper, but if the quality is there, then I'm happy.

CrimandEvil said:
Yes MCE will work with AIW cards but don't even bother with it, SarverSystems posted a good link so look there.

Is it the 2004 version? If so you could get an ATI E-Home Wonder (Newegg has them for like $78ish- Get the one with FM first though) which is would work great on the cheap side but you should really get a Hauppauge 250MCE card if you can spring for the extra cost (they're like $120ish) but personlly I'd try to get a 250MCE and an E-Home Wonder since I have a few things I'd like to hookup (I have quite a few consile game systems) and the 250MCE's inputs are all rendered in MPEG2 meaning that there is a lag of a few seconds (like three).