What should I get? Powerbook or Tablet PC?

muadist

n00b
Hi all, I'm looking into getting either a Powerbook or a Tablet PC with the money I received for christmas. Which do recommend that I get? I am a student in high school, so the Tablet PC might be a nice option for that. Currently I use linux, but have never tried a mac, so I was thinking the powerbook might be good for teaching me about apples and for video editing.

I was looking at the PowerBook G4 867MHz/256MB/40GB/SuperDrive/E/12"TFT - Refurbished for $1399 and the Compaq TC1000 Tablet PC with 1ghz/512mb/30GB for about $900-$1000 on ebay.

Any suggestions?

uh, i think you'll find mac's well polished coming from linux. do i think they're faster? no way. is there a wider selection of "professional" software on the mac? hell yes. is it cheap? haha yeah right. it's apple we're talking about.

i'd go for the mac and put my own 512MB sodimm in it (with aqua - even 10.3, 256MBs is UGLY slow - adjusted of course for the already slow-as-shit aqua). oh yeah. i'd wipe the hard drive and put gentoo on it. but the apple laptops use very nice hardware, they're solidly built - look purty too - and very light. the screens are pretty decent, and batterly life isn't horrible. but as a student - look into that a lot.

Yes.

Powerbook

Plain and simple :p

The only thing I miss on my Powerbook, G4 867mhz 512mb ram 40gb hd 15" TFT, is gaming capability (it has GeForce2go MX yadayada), but that´s honestly all.
The PB you are talking about is sweet and you can definitively run both iMovie and Final Cut Pro smoothly on those specs. I am. OSX 10.3 is very nice and stable.

The one you want is tiny, lightweight, will absolutely get attention from babes and if you are worried about taking notes at school, just wait for the new Office X for mac which has embedded audio recording in Word to help you out when you don´t wanna type.

Can you be that cool with a tablet pc? :cool:

Happy shopping!