TrueNAS Core or TrueNAS Scale, which should I go with?

Deadjasper

2[H]4U
I have one TrueNas box running Core and I'm putting together another and need to decide if maybe scale would be a better choice. As i understand it, Core is kinda sucky when it comes to Jails and addins whereas Core isn't. At this point I really don't use the OS for anything other than a NAS but that could change. I'm familiar with Core as I've been using it for years. I have no experience with Scale so I don't know what sort of problems I might run into.

Thought I'd ask here first since the people over at the TrueNAS forum are mean as hell. :p

AFAICT other than a few feature differences Core and Scale are essentially identical on the surface (GUI, app-specific CLI, etc.) and performance is similar.

My gut feeling is that Scale is the future, but Core isn't going anywhere any time soon. I think they want Linux so they can do more with containers, distributed storage, etc. that has better support on that OS. Bu the BSD-based systems are pretty entrenched. If I were building a new system I'd go Scale (I've been sitting on migrating my own box for months now).

Didn't they finally punt that one guy from their forums who was making it really hostile?

AFAICT other than a few feature differences Core and Scale are essentially identical on the surface (GUI, app-specific CLI, etc.) and performance is similar.

My gut feeling is that Scale is the future, but Core isn't going anywhere any time soon. I think they want Linux so they can do more with containers, distributed storage, etc. that has better support on that OS. Bu the BSD-based systems are pretty entrenched. If I were building a new system I'd go Scale (I've been sitting on migrating my own box for months now).

Didn't they finally punt that one guy from their forums who was making it really hostile?

I've decided to go with Scale. That way I can do a one to one comparison and can always switch to Core if need be.