SuperSU pre-installed on a factory unlocked phone?

1911Shootist

[H]ard|Gawd
I dropped my G3 a few days ago, so I purchased an unlocked one on Amazon (was supposed to be new, but is refurbished). I noticed it came with the app 'SuperSU Free' pre-installed, but does not appear to have root access (although I'm a noob when it comes to rooting/modding).

Is this cause for concern (security), another sign the phone was refurbished and not new, or is it normal for a stock ROM to include this?

No major brand would come with that installed send it back for security reasons

What else makes you think it's refurbished? I'd send that shit back if I got a used phone with a root app on it.

That's def not a stock app on any phone. If it's supposed to be new and it's obviously a refurb, I would contact Amazon or the seller and ask for a partial refund or something to compensate for the false advertisement. But I would still keep it if it seems ok otherwise, as some refurbs have been better than new phones in my experience, so it's not a big deal IMO. It's not really a security concern, but I would be concerned about the ability to receive OTA updates if it doesn't have the stock recovery installed. Here's a vid on how to boot into the recovery mode on the G3;

If your recovery looks like that in the vid or says TWRP opon opening, then that's not the stock recovery for the phone and it will not be able to be updated until you flash the stock boot image and recovery agent onto it. Fortunately that's normally not very hard to do and you should find all you need to restore it to stock here in the XDA G3 forum. If you don't feel like dealing with all of that though, then yeah, just request a new replacement.