SQL Help - How to query for something that contains more than one keyword?

GeForceX

Supreme [H]ardness
Hey guys,

A little help: I'm having an issue with trying to retrieve a result from a query. Perhaps the table relationship is designed wrong. Maybe I'm using the wrong SQL commands. I'm very new to databases and SQL so I hope you can forgive me for this.

Code:
[B]Article Table[/B] - [I]Attrib: Article ID, Article Title[/I]
 |
<> [B]Article_Keyword Table[/B] - [I]Attrib: Article ID, Keyword ID [/I]
 |
[B]Keyword Table[/B] - [I]Attrib: Keyword ID, Keyword Description[/I]

An article can have many keywords.
A keyword can belong to many articles.

A user can search for an article with more than 1 keyword, for example:
I want to search for an article that has keyword 1 (science) and keyword 5 (medical).

I tried to use this SQL statement:

SELECT Article ID
FROM Article_Keyword Table
WHERE Keyword_ID = '1' and '5'

But I know this does not work. I've been trying to figure out how to get multiple keywords in a single query.

Another thought was to use a subquery using something like this:

SELECT Article ID
WHERE Keyword_ID = '1' IN
(SELECT Article ID
WHERE Keyword_ID = '5')

But of course, that isn't the correct SQL statement.

Any help?

Thanks.

Wouldn't it just be

SELECT Article ID
FROM Article_Keyword
WHERE Keyword_ID IN (1, 5)

Are you trying to find articles that have both keyword 1 and keyword 5 in the same article? The query Jonnyy gives shows articles that have keyword 1, as well as articles that have keyword 5, and also articles that have both keywords.

How about:

SELECT id FROM table WHERE
id IN (SELECT id FROM table WHERE keyword = 1) AND
id IN (SELECT id FROM table WHERE keyword = 5)

?

That would give IDs of articles with both keyword 1 and keyword 5, but probably isn't the most efficient way to code the query.

Are you trying to find articles that have both keyword 1 and keyword 5 in the same article?