So I'm creating a 3d workstation....

Eduardo

2[H]4U
I'm going to animating a SHITLOAD of stuff withen 3dsmax soon so I was looking to create a dual 3.2ghz xeon system, and possibly adding a pure p1800 down the line.... I'm a home pc guy and this is my first attempt at creating a pro workstation, so any suggestions/advice are more then welcome. initial budget is about $3500 and I'd like to stay away from SCSI solutions since I have a bunch of SATA drives sitting around my house

get a big case. Don't waste your money on Professional graphics cards. Buy a gaming "identical cousin" to a FireGL or QuadroFX and Rivatune it.

Mr. Tinker said:
get a big case. Don't waste your money on Professional graphics cards. Buy a gaming "identical cousin" to a FireGL or QuadroFX and Rivatune it.

Unless of course you need absolute stability.

Our animators and CADD people and even our modellers all use the dell dualies. the precision workstations. say what you want about dell, but that dual xeon with a couple gigs of ram smokes, and if it ever dies, they're great about sending us repairmen.

QM

Just my $.02 by the way.

quasimodem said:
Our animators and CADD people and even our modellers all use the dell dualies. the precision workstations. say what you want about dell, but that dual xeon with a couple gigs of ram smokes, and if it ever dies, they're great about sending us repairmen.

QM

Just my $.02 by the way.

Yeah, this is true.
You may be a good builder, but I always like the ability to call someone and they send out the replacement parts. Instead of me having to front the money myself.

You will pay a price premium, but you are getting peace of mind in return.
Plus if you get the 3 year warranty, and the machine breaks far enough down the line, you will probably get better parts in return.

Moog said:
Unless of course you need absolute stability.