SATA - worth it?

Are SATA drives really worth it? I'm pretty new to them. From what I've heard, they're hot swappable with the right plugins. That's kind of cool... I also read that they're reverse compat with ATA 100/133- are they?

I'm looking at a whole new system and the board I'm looking at has SATA capabilities (Abit NF7-S).

I found these two drives for a pretty good price (I thought)

- Maxtor 160GB SATA 7200RPM 8mb Cache OEM, 3 yr warranty for $140 usd

and

- WD Caviar SE 120GB SATA 7200RPM 8mb Cache, 3 yr warranty for $117 usd

(I had to convert prices from cdn. I got the prices at ncix.com)

I'm pretty sure 120GB would be enough for me. I have 2 60GB WD 7200RPM disks now, but both are 2mb cache and not SATA. Would I have any problems hooking one of these drives up on the same channel as my SATA disk? Or does it work differently?

What other advantages does SATA have?

Thanks guys!

Yes! Serial ATA hard drives are well worth the money. As a personal preference, I would go with Western Digital. Seems like the Maxtor's have a higher failure rate from personal experience (I am a computer technician, have been most of my life). The thing is though, to really get the performance from a SATA hard drive, it is best to purchase 2 matched drives and setup them up in RAID configuration. The throughput does vary but is normally about 1/3 faster than if you use just a single SATA hard drive.

I am running 2x120GB WDs in a RAID 0 config and they just simply rock! I switched over from 2x120GB WDs on a built-in P-ATA Promise controller on a Asus P4C800-E Deluxe and I noticed a big difference right off the bat. Windows XP Professional loaded quicker and everything just runs faster than it did before.

Hope this info helps!

AceGoober

Ahh okay. Yeah i was kind of leaning towards the WD myself.

I don't think I have the money for a 2nd 120gb, nor do I need that much space.