[Python] global name 'element' not defined

firedrow

Limp Gawd
Ok, so I decided to start learning Python. I'm a net admin by trade, with some C/C++ classes years ago. I've started reading Learn Python the Hard Way and I'm over halfway through the book, but I decided to take a break and start working on a little project. So far I've overcome some little issues and moved forward, but now I'm stuck and I'm not seeing the way around.

Code:
# Import helper functions and code
from xml.etree.ElementTree import ElementTree
from xml.parsers.expat import ExpatError

# Define functions
def parse_xml(note_file):
	""" parses the specified XML database """
	results = []

print "ID  | Title"

for element in note_file.getiterator('note'):
		date = element.find('date')

results.append({
			'id' : element.get('id'),
			'title' : element.find('title').text,
			'body' : element.find('body').text,
			'date' : {
				'day' : date.find('day').text,
				'month' : date.find('month').text,
				'year' : date.find('year').text,
			},
		})

def open_xml(tree):
	""" open the XML database, pass it to the parse_xml function """
	try:
		note_file = ElementTree(file = tree)
	except ExpatData:
		print "Unable to parse XML from file"

parse_xml(note_file)

print element.get('id'), "|", element.find('title').text

noteDB = raw_input('What file would you like to open? ')
open_xml(noteDB)

In Python I get my prompt, then I enter the XML file, then the error "global name 'element' not defined". I'm missing the way to pull variables between functions, and element isn't a simple str or int I can just define "global element" somewhere. I'm probably over my head in coding so far, but the rest of the book work appears to be socket/game coding and I'm looking to build a simple note taking app for now.

In your open_xml function,
...element is not defined. It doesn't know what element is.