Possibly OC'ing my upcoming Skylake build. I have questions.

RareAir23

Limp Gawd
Hi all. As my previous posts have mentioned I am going to be doing a Skylake build in February to replace my aging X58/Nehalem build. I am going with a Core i7 6700K with a Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming 7 mobo. I haven't decided with this build (aside from using the XMP profile for the memory kit I get) if I'm going to straight OC the CPU. I already know 3 things with this board before OC'ing. 1. Flash the BIOS to latest stable version. 2. Disable the onboard video controller on the CPU. 3. Install Windows and install all drivers before OC'ing the CPU. I figured those 2 things out from my research so far.

A couple of questions remain though I feel I need to ask: Question 1: I am a total rookie to truly OC'ing a CPU. Never done it before. If I OC I only want to OC to 4.5GHz which I feel should be good enough for a 1st OC and with the CPU/mobo combo it appears to be quite stable at that range. Therefore, by the experience of all here who have worked with the CPU/mobo I mention what is the best combo of multiplier change and voltage change to achieve 4.5GHz in a stable manner? 2. If I OC the CPU can I still use the XMP profile of my memory simultaneously or can I use only 1 or the other at one time? Thanks in advance for answers and advice. Out!

Choose your memory carefully.
I bought Corsair Vengeance LPX and it wont do rated speed.
I would get GSkill Ripjaws V if buying now.

Voltage needed will vary, you need to find what works for you.
To start with, dont use the XMP profile on your memory.
Find what is a good stable setup for your CPU and then find if your memory is good enough.
Good memory should work fine but the quality of the CPU itself can have an effect, as can compatibility with the motherboard and its BIOS.

Multiplier change is simple.
45x for 4.5GHz.

I'd recommend g skill trident z DDR 4 first with g skill rip jaw v second (I own both).