PFSense hardware recommendations (newb)

thekamikazepr

Limp Gawd
Hello.

I'm new to PFsense and this subforum.

Im trying to build a sub $200 PF sense system strong enough to support Snort.

I heard a celeron J1800 has enough power but most systems mitx that i have found use Realtek which I have heard is not compatible with PFSense
example:
(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...135393&cm_re=ecs_j1800-_-13-135-393-_-Product)

In order to counter that I have been recommended something like this aliexpress:
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...-Barebone-Mini-PC-with/800900_1638834276.html

but I would personally preffer something ship from here.

I have seen people in the forum (here) mention a intel NUC but most with my requirements surpass the budget.

Alix (some recommendations) do not seem strong enough.

I have also looked at Foxxconn and Zotac mini pc barebones (no idea if these work).

Do you guys have any recommendations?
I preffer sd card as storage but I'm open to opinions.

Note I'm not an expert at these jsut barely try to install it on my old laptop but was unable to due to hw not being compatible.

An old server with dual Intel NICs may be your best bang for your buck or run it in a VM to try it out. If you use an SD card make sure you use the correct version of pfsense so it does not constantly use the card.

the celeron J1800 only has one NIC port. Not sure how you plan to do the setup unless you use VLAN tagging or buy additional NIC addon card

Last edited:
An old server with dual Intel NICs may be your best bang for your buck or run it in a VM to try it out. If you use an SD card make sure you use the correct version of pfsense so it does not constantly use the card.

Currently using an old laptop with vlans like you mention for setup.

The thing is I need to replace my old camera monitoring server so I might just invest in something that runs pfsense while since at the end of the profeCT development face I will keep the hw.