Ouch, just venting

So it finally happened. Maybe I was a bit cocky, maybe I should have seen it coming. I've been watercooling for a couple of years now, built multiple systems with no problem. Well I just fried my good computer. One slow leak that appeared one week after I installed it during the middle of the night. I had leak tested and not changed a thing, it ran fine for a week, not even a hint of leaking, no drops, no errant condensation.

It took out my MSI K8T-Neo2, 6800GT, audigy 2 ZS, both 512MB sticks of kingston
hyper x DDR500. I guess live and learn and use non-conductive fluid next time. Just needing to vent.

why did you not use none conductive water anyways? none conductive water helps with mineral build ups in the system aswell. helps keep everything open and free flowing..

arisythila said:
why did you not use none conductive water anyways? none conductive water helps with mineral build ups in the system aswell. helps keep everything open and free flowing..

There is no such thing as non-conductive water. I beleive he was referring to the non-condutive solutions out there, sold by DangerDen and others. MCT-40, MCT-5, and FluidXP.

Pentosin is anti-freeze, use it the same as you would use antifreeze, as an additive to distilled water. And yes, distilled water + 5-10% antifreeze is one of the best coolants you can use.

About the leak, that sucks, are you sure that all of the components are trashed? Usually you only lose one or two things. I would try to test the components in known working systems. About the only failure I have seen where everything was trashed was DFI_Daishi's disaster.

arisythila said:
I donno, i use Koolance liquid, Its not suppose to conduct.

I think the Koolance coolant IS conductive. It is not advertised as conductive and it says that it is basically an additive premixed with distilled water...hints of conductivity to me.