Noob Question

snowysnowcones

[H]ard|Gawd
Hey everybody!
I recently purchased new hardware - everything but the hard drive, and I'm planing on installing Vista on it. However, I only have the upgrade edition of Vista. Now, I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to Operating Systems, and I'm wondering if I'll still be able to upgrade to vista without having to do a fresh install of XP, before I can upgrade. (Will XP boot properly with the new hardware, and I'll be able to upgrade to vista, or should I do a fresh install of XP, then upgrade to Vista)?

Thanks!
-Snowy

There's a sticky floating around, and it's been mentioned quite a bit, but you can install the upgrade version on a blank drive. Don't put in the serial number. Once it's up and running, pop in your Vista DVD again, and "upgrade" again. This time, put in your serial, and everything is fine.

There's a sticky floating around, and it's been mentioned quite a bit, but you can install the upgrade version on a blank drive. Don't put in the serial number. Once it's up and running, pop in your Vista DVD again, and "upgrade" again. This time, put in your serial, and everything is fine.

I don't have a blank drive :S

I guess I misunderstood with all the talk about XP. If you want XP to run on the new hardware (assuming it's already installed and you didn't mention that), run Sysprep before shutting down your old PC to move the drive to the new setup.

If it's Vista you really want installed, back up your data, wipe the drive clean, move it to the new PC, and then install Vista as I mentioned above.

I guess I misunderstood with all the talk about XP. If you want XP to run on the new hardware (assuming it's already installed and you didn't mention that), run Sysprep before shutting down your old PC to move the drive to the new setup.

If it's Vista you really want installed, back up your data, wipe the drive clean, move it to the new PC, and then install Vista as I mentioned above.