no quad core westmere? no lynnfield upgrades?

grenadier

Limp Gawd
I was planning to upgrade my lga 775 q9450 / asus p5q deluxe setup to a socket 1156 i5 750 / asus P7P55D pro setup this week, but idf this week left me confused. I'm a filmmaker who does a lot of HD work so I'm always looking for the fastest (affordable) setup available. Nehalem systems were too expensive when they were released (pricey x58's + ddr3) so I decided to wait for lynnfield and when lynnfield was released the benchmarks were fast so I planned my i5 750 upgrade and all was well... until idf when low and behold:

There's no quad core 32nm / westmere chip!

Gulftown (six core westmer) looks PERFECT for what I do, but all of the idf roadmaps list gulftown as an 'extreme' part so I'm guessing they won't be available for under $1000 anytime soon. My question is - should I suck it up and go ahead with my planned i5 750 build even though there's no upgrade path until sandy bridge in 2011, should I go for an i7 860 that has slightly more staying power (8 threads), or should I go x58 and cross my fingers that intel brings out an affordable gulftown chip?

Thanks!

There will probably be more moderately-priced Gulftown chips at some point, so I think you'd be better off with an i7 CPU. In any case, you might benefit from the additional memory bandwidth, and you'll probably also have a better chance of being able to support Sandy Bridge chips when they come out (we don't know what sockets they'll use, but I think the likelihood of there being LGA1366 Sandy Bridge CPUs is at least as much as if not more than the likelihood of LGA1156 chips).

I would presume they would make cheaper, simpler versions of the hex-core Westmere to replace the lower Core i7s. It wouldn't make much sense to have a whole processor family at the $1000 price point or higher.

Why wait for a 6 core chip?.. just get dual i7's http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813182176