New PC won't post

xvioz

Weaksauce
Mmmkay so I put it all together today, plugged it in and all the fans (including HSFand the fan on the video card) are spinning and the LED on the mobo is on. I get no beeps and nothing shows up on my monitor.

Any help would be appreciated, this is my first time building one myself so I'm sweating bullets lol. I follow the manuals as close as I could.

Thanks.

Possibly a bad mobo or video card, but before you jump to conclusions...

1. Unplug everything you don't need (extra fans, hard drives, optical drives) and see if you can get it to post. Your psu may be insufficient.
2. Try a different video card if you have one

It would really help if you listed the complete specs of the system.

Specs = Q6600, Asus P5K, OCZ Gold XTC (4x1GB), WD 250 GB SATA2 HD, Samsung SATA DVR Writer, Corsair 620HX and a BFG 8800GT OC.

I think the video card works because when I plug the DVI to VGA connector into it and plug the monitor into that the floating box on the monitor that says "MONITOR IS WORKING, CHECK SIGNAL CABLE" disappears.

I think the PSU works because the fans kick on fine and the mobo lights up.

Hard drive and optical drives are fine because I tried them in another PC.

I tried different configs of the memory ( 1 stick, 2 sticks, 3 sticks and 4).

I read something about restting CMOS jumpers or something, apparently it's common but I don't know what to set them to and/or if they're wrong. The mobo manual is totally useless for it lol. Another thing is that the voltage of the memory might have to be switched in the BIOS... but I can't get in.

there is usually a set of 3 pins with a jumper on pins 1 & 2. unplug the pc and move the jumper to pins 2 & 3, and then wait a few mins. move the jumper back to pins 1 & 2, then power up and see if it works.

Specs = Q6600, Asus P5K, OCZ Gold XTC (4x1GB), WD 250 GB SATA2 HD, Samsung SATA DVR Writer, Corsair 620HX and a BFG 8800GT OC.