Need Router and Networking Suggestions

AudioCow

Gawd
I've been using a cheap Tomato router for a few years now and it died on me earlier this week. My project this weekend is to get a new router and redo my network. I'd like to keep the cost of the new equipment under $200 from MicroCenter.

Here is how I have things set up now:
Wireless
iPhone 5
iPad Mini
AppleTV 2
AppleTV 3
Black Xbox 360
Macbook Air (2011)
Windows 7 Gaming PC/File Server (sig)
Friend's Phones, and gadgets

Wired
AT&T Microcell
White Xbox 360
HP Printer

The Windows PC contains all of my back-ups, large files, and media. The AppleTVs stream the media fairly often and the Macbook has it's iTunes library stored on this PC also.

I'm fairly clueless on the networking stuff, but I'd like to keep the PC wireless if possible.

Any advice on what I should pick up and how I should set it up for some killer network performance?

TP-Link WDR4300
Use stock firmware or a trunk of OpenWRT with LuCI
//Danne

I've heard that the ASUS RT-N66U offers some amazing performance for its price. Plus the open source firmware will allow you to re-flash it to DD-WRT or TomatoUSB if you want to try something new.

Well, 3rd party firmwares are still limited to Asus's binary blobs so I wouldn't say its a good choice if you want good 3rd party support. You're better off with Atheros based hardware such as the TP-Link mentioned above or Netgear WNDR4300.
//Danne

Mikrotik is kinda overhyped, it's just a plain (in most cases) Atheros platform that's more expensive than your consumer router platform. RouterOS is the only thing that really differs which may/may not be what you're looking for. In many cases for home users I'm quite sure that OpenWRT would serve you better.
//Danne

Given that Asus seems to have issues with Apple devices on Ralink devices (at least the 56 devices) and the poor 3rd party support I'd stay away from that platform but oh well...
//Danne