MMO's and the future.

Stiler

[H]F Junkie
So, I started playing graphical mmo's back in the mid 90's. During the UO/EQ days. One thing that both games shared in common was a sense of depth and a feeling that not everything was easy. UO had it's full looting with pvp, EQ had it's tough PVE with corpse runs and exp loss.

Together with other various things both games had a certain sense of depth and immersion to them. However when the next generation of mmo's started to develop things took certain turns away from both games in various senses.

After UO, you never really had a major well funded/backed game that had it's main focus on full open pvp with full looting. After EQ most pve oriented games scaled back what you could lose (corpse runs, exp, etc).

Lately I've been noticing, many people complain about how they get to the end game of an mmo and then run out of Content, they wonder "Why is there not another four hour raid I can go on? Or why is the third time through the same raid not fun anymore?"

I'll tell you why, and to me it's not the games fault, it's the players. The past couple of years on various forums, from general gaming forums to mmo forums, I've noticed that generally people are constantly wanting things both easier and quicker. They don't want to have to take any time for time, or to have to really earn them, and I don't mean earn in the sense of "I spent four hours in that raid," I mean actual earning, using player skill and character skill not about time invested.

They don't want to have to talk to a player crafter for an item, they want an AH to instantly be able to buy any and every item they ever have wanted. They don't want to lose anything on death, they just want to be res'd and that's that. They don't want to lose, but only want to gain. They don't want depth, they want easy quick assembly line "fun" pre packaged and spoon fed to them while they look at the nice uber shiny gear and weapons.