Maximizing my P4 3GHZ system

Hi, I'm a relative noob at the overclocking scene and was simply wondering how to get the best out of my system.

my specs are:

P4 3ghz
P4P800 deluxe
4x512MB (2GB) Kingston PC3200 @ 3-3-3
Hercules (9800 pro)
160 GB Maxtor hardrive

with 400 watt powersupply

I don't even have a fan for my power supply and I'm basically running with an open case, but my cpu temp goes from 25-40 degrees celcius and the mobo is usually at around 38-40ish.

I heard that people are able to oc the 3ghz up to around 3.8 and get the fsb really high also (which I have no idea how to do).

I simply use the AI overclocker that's in my bios and it wont post at 30% overclock which is 3.9 and it won't run windows at 20% overclock which is 3.6. I can only run a 10% overclock at 3.3ghz and it by default i guess bumps my fsb to 220.

Is this normal? or am i supposed to run my comp stably at the higher settings? perhaps manually setting the options (which i don't really know how to do)? Does overclocking really damage your cpu and lower the lifespan dramatically.

I will be rendering a lot on 3d applications, which does drain the cpu so i'm quite worried about this. I was rendering abou 350 frames of a pretty complex scene and my fans started to get a little high pitched....scary.

Lastly, for this long post. Should I sell my rig and rebuild it dramatically cheaper or upgrade when the next set of prescotts and 64s are released? I'd be looking to get rid of it for about $1600 but don't know if that will work out.

Any help? THanks

Can you put the ram on a 5:4 divider? If that 10% oc is running 220 fsb, it may not be keeping the ram at 200MHz. Which is way out of spec. No supprise 30% OC (260MHz FSB) wont work at all.

If the %OC feature locks the ram at 200MHz, ignore everything I said.