Looking for guidance, 290CF +3570K

smithkt

Limp Gawd
I have a 3570K which I currently have air cooled and clocked to 4.5, stock volts. I just installed an R9-290 with a second one on the way for crossfire. While I think the noise issue on the stock cooler has been overblown, it is not silent when it ramps up. noticeable, but not unbearable. Despite this, I've always wanted to try water cooling and this seems like as good an excuse as any. The case I am currently using, and would like to keep using is the Cooler Master CM690 II. It can supposedly support two 2x120 rads, on in top and one in the bottom.

I have zero experience with this, despite building computers since the 286 days. I've been reading as many threads on the subject as possible, and like most other things, it raises as many questions as it answers. Opinions are so varied.

Budget is not limited, but I want to be smart about this. I'm not looking to throw away money. Bling is not important to me either. This is not intended to be a flashy showcase system. I'm also not opposed to buying used.

So to the questions:

1) Would two 2x120 rads be sufficient to cool 2 R9-290 (possibly overclocked) and the 3570K overclocked on stock volts.

2) If not, I am not opposed to using an external rad. Open to suggestions.

3) If using more than one rad, do you just put them in series with each other or is it better to run two separate loops? This requires a second pump and res or one of those dual bay res like the RP-452X2. This is obviously more money and requires more space.

4) speaking of the res, I've seen both the cylindrical ones and the bay ones. Are there any advantages to one over the other? I believe the case I have allows the removal of the lower drive bays, so I don't think space is an issue.

That's all I can think of for now. Any push in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

A few reactions: