Joining a Windows 2k3 domain

digilink

Gawd
I have two Windows XP Pro computers that I want to join to a Windows 2k3 server domain. I created computer and user accounts for both machines, however, the problem I am seeing is that I am getting a default desktop when the user logs onto the domain from the XP Pro machines. Both machines were able to succesfully join.

Disclaimer, I am totally new to this, I have never administered a domain before. How do I make the local accounts on the XP Pro machines work with the domain controller? For example, I want both machines to work just as they are now standalone(retaining desktop wallpaper, settings, icons, etc), but joined to the domain.

Did you actually join the computers to the Domain? Thats the first step and you don't have to manually create the computer accounts in the domain first. The only thing that buys you is the ability to put it in the OU you want it in when it is joined.

Not sure what your asking here but if if you want the domain profiles to have the same settings as the previous local profile settings then either manually move over the folders (favorites, mydocuments, localsettings,etc..) or you can use teh built in utility. System properties, advanced, user profiles, then migrate over using the Copy To button.

Any time you login to a xp computer, whether it's on the domain or workgroup locally, you will create a folder in Documents and Settings that maintains the local settings. Desktop, favorites and the like. Any time you logon for the first time your going to get the default user profile settings, which you can alter if you want by editing the Default User profile in Document and Settings. If your talking about roaming profiles that is another issue entirely. Perhaps define what your problem is exactly and you'll get more specific replies.

BBA said: