i7 3960x

|DFA| Havoc

Limp Gawd
Hiya folks! I'm new around these parts, but I've been hanging out on the tomshardware forums for a few years.

I've been building PCs for like 15 years, but I've only ever lightly dabbled in overclocking, so I'm pretty much a total greenhorn in that regard. I've just recently come into possession of a 3960x, and for some reason the idea of trying to melt a $1000 CPU appeals to me. :p

I have a Corsair H110 on it inside a Carbide 540 air, and it's currently hitting 70c under prime95 torture test just at the stock clocks. That seems really high to me for stock settings with this setup... am I doing something wrong, or do these chips just normally run that hot? :eek:

Appreciate any pointers, sorry for my noobery.

Yeah you're slightly above what these guys found
LOAD.png

But really its a similar ballpark. Prime95 will generate more cpu temp than almost anything out there. In reality if you run something like 3DMark or Cinebench you won't get that high temps and if you play BF4 you will be cooler even still.

You can try a remount in case you got it slightly wrong.

I've got the same case which moves a good amount of air

I had to wait until I got home to reply just to double check. You either have quite high ambients, a poor mount job, or a possibly faulty (though still functional) pump. Just checked with my 3930K running it's 24x7 settings (all cores @ 4.6GHz) and only hit 66 on the hottest core. This is with a Corsair H100i, so if you're at stock loading all 6 cores should yield 3.6GHz and with a comparable H110 you should be at least a bit under 66 I would think.

Edit: I should have noted I ran In-Place Large FFT's (supposedly generates the most heat).

Last edited:
You are running WAAAAYYYY too hot for stock clocks.

In which orientation is the H110 mounted?

Fan configuration?

Like the other person said, the H110 could have a faulty pump. Is the H110 getting warm?