HTPC Business?

hipsterdoofus

Limp Gawd
Hey guys,

I began posting on here a few months ago when I built my first HTPC. I'm not a computer novice by any stretch, but was not into the HTPC thing at the time.

I have a full time job in IT, but was considering the idea of maybe doing some local business of building HTPC's for people.

Do you all think this is viable? I was discussing it with another IT friend, and we thought it would be possible, but we would definitely have to think through some things first. Obviously the systems would have to be fairly low cost at the base level to catch the most consumers. I'm just looking to see if you all think it could be done and what your thoughts are on it.

You might sell a couple. Most people are just using their ps3 or xbox 360, and have DVR service through cable and satellite... makes selling them hard.

You might sell a couple. Most people are just using their ps3 or xbox 360, and have DVR service through cable and satellite... makes selling them hard.

True - I don't know a lot about the ones through cable or satellite service - how many tuners do those usually have? The question is, are there people like me who don't have cable or satellite but would still like the capability?

There is a market for it... but you would have to diversify to do things other than just building home theater PCs. Check out http://www.cedia.net/. And actually, you'd need to go for the other end (the high end) of the market to really make a go at it. HTPCs are not the right fit for most households... yet.

There is a market for it... but you would have to diversify to do things other than just building home theater PCs. Check out http://www.cedia.net/. And actually, you'd need to go for the other end (the high end) of the market to really make a go at it. HTPCs are not the right fit for most households... yet.