How long should a platform last?

wandplus

Limp Gawd
I think it should be 9 months so they can work out the bugs. The last time I bought one of my motherboards I had to do a BIOS flash so I could view the video through some video ports.

1708617699839.png

It needs to be a balancing act. For example I love how long AM4 has lasted, but it's also annoying that they have to drop support for older CPUs to support the newer ones. So at some point you have to choose between security and bug fixes for older chips, or support for newer chips at all.

I have been building pc's since 1999. My two previous machines lasted almost 10 years. My current main machine was built in 2017 and still kicking it. It can take 3 more years easily. So yeah they can live up to 10 years if you take good care of them.

Edit: I have a synology NAS storage device that I bought from this forum (DS1512+) that I bought I think in 2012 !!! It is still kicking it with all the dust in the world inside it. I don't remember cleaning it at all ^_^. Those synology boxes are just so reliable! I have other NAS boxes but this one is still functional and I'm using effectively. A NAS may not be a PC but it is still a computer.

Last edited:
I think that this question sort of misses the mark.

A platform "lasts" as long as it's useful.

So it's not really about the platform, it's what you are using it for.

In the 1990's we saw technology become obsolete quickly because what people used their computers for was also changing quickly.

On the flip side, when people's computing habits remain mostly constant over time or changes slowly, it allows older hardware to remain useful longer.

You could build a rig and have it last 10-20 years, or, a single "killer app" could potentially render it obsolete overnight. AI could be that new "killer app", if it gets to the point where people are actually using local AI often and traditional hardware won't cut it.