Hitachi 80GB ATA100 7200RPM

Hi. I'm new to this forum, but won't stay new I hope.

Anyways, as for a first post, I was wondering, is this a good deal?

http://www.pcinfinity.net/Merchant2...=HDHIT807200&Product_Count=1&Category_Code=HD

I'm new to computers, so I kind of want to know more.

I read aobut IBM "DeathStars" and I'm afraid about this. Does anyone know about this type of model and if they could help? Thanks!

Also if you know of a cheaper 80gig model would be appreicated.

Thank you so much!

welcome to [H]

I have one after my 45gb IBM died (after 2 years of use)
RMA'd my 45gb and they gave me the 80gb hitachi.

No problems so far. I heard that hitachi fixed the deskstar and they won't die like the IBM ones did.

-Robert

The "Deathstar" problem was fixed with firmware. As for the generations following the infamous 75GXP and 60GXP series, none of IBM/Hitachi's drives have exhibited any unusual problems. Frankly, they have become very desirable drives due to their class leading performance and very low operating noise.

the short answer is
ATA100 is limited to 100MB/s burst rate data transfer
the ATA133 standard increases that "Burst" rate to the same speed as the PCI bus (133MB/s) mostly in theory, and more as marketing hype than anything else. For all intensive purpose its the same as ATA100, and was primarily developed by Maxtor as a marketing edge just prior to the introduction of SATA. (serial ATA, ATA 100\133 is PATA parallel ATA)

While the "burst" rate is upto 100>133MB/s the typical transfer rate, is 50MB/s to 30MB/s for most ATA100 7200rpm HDDs.

I recommend you read As the Disk Spins

regarding accessories you need some screws, a good 80wire cable and ideally a nice cool stable place to put the HDD, ideally in a good airstream, that can be augmented with a fan or HDD cooler. But isnt absolutely neccessary