Help me get this Q6600 to 3.2GHz+

Teitoku

Limp Gawd
So I have these:
Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 2.4GHz
GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM

I used to run it at 3.0GHz or so, I think. During the last summer, it started crashing if I ran it above stock... no clue why, other than ambient heat perhaps. I was probably doing it wrong anyways.

I recently upgraded from a 9800GTX+ to a 650 Ti, and I'd like to get as much performance out of this system as I can. The thing is, if I try to run this CPU even 100MHz over stock, it either freezes or BSODs on me. Sometimes it makes it as far as the Windows desktop, but not always.

I've tried various settings, vcore from 1.30 (VID for this CPU) to 1.45, FSB from 200MHz to 400MHz, nothing really helps. I'm a noob at overclocking anything beyond a Barton core Athlon XP, so I'm lost with this myriad of settings in my BIOS. Don't know where to begin. I've looked at a half-dozen guides and I don't see anything that I recognize as a starting point; just explanations of BIOS settings.

So can I get this sucker to 3.2GHz? How?

Last edited:
So I have these:
Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 2.4GHz
GIGABYTE EP45-DS3L
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM

I used to run it at 3.0GHz or so, I think. During the last summer, it started crashing if I ran it above stock... no clue why, other than ambient heat perhaps. I was probably doing it wrong anyways.

I recently upgraded from a 9800GTX+ to a 650 Ti, and I'd like to get as much performance out of this system as I can. The thing is, if I try to run this CPU even 100MHz over stock, it either freezes or BSODs on me. Sometimes it makes it as far as the Windows desktop, but not always.