H80i in custom loop?

Outlaw85

[H]ard|Gawd
1. I'm new to water cooling.
2. I plan to overclock now, in the future, after the loop is completed.
3. Got over excited and bought a little too much. (not a bad thing yet).

What I'm cooling
EVGA GTX 660 SC
i7-4770K

Hopefully fit in (with some mods OK);
Fractal Node 304 ITX case

Currently installed on the CPU is an H80i which seems to be OK for keeping the 4770K at 4.2Ghz. Doing stress test, it peaked at 75c on one of the cores with a single fan on low/med. I don't stress this thing much other than gaming at the moment.

Also, with looking to use the kill coil and distilled with colored or uv tubing, should I use a reservoir or just stuff into the tubing?

I am looking to mount whatever I add to the inside of the case. I am OK with cutting some holes/slots in the top to accommodate the large rad.

I am wondering if the H80i pump is strong enough to;
A. Add another 120mm rad/fan
B. Remove 120mm rad/fan and change it out for dual fan rad using 140mm's.

I don't have a CPU block at the moment and looking to just kill 2 birds with one stone. The Corsair link software is pretty neat as far as monitoring goes. If the pump isn't up to the task, I can use an MCP355 although it will change my current plan of install.

I've done some research but I haven't found much where people are modding the loops of the H80/i like they did with the originals (H50's.. and such).

Any help is appreciated.
Outlaw

Last edited:
Ill just give a brief answer now, and when more awake (if no one beats me to it) elaborate...

Short answer, dont do what you suggest. The H80 is a all in one cooler, its is not designed to incorporate anything additional in the loop. This is just asking for trouble all around. If your going to go with a water system your best off using parts designed for the purpose.