Entry to watercooling

Yossarian22

[H]ard|Gawd
Hello all.

I don't visit this forum very often. I think because in the public eye the popularity of alternative cooling solutions have dropped. For me, it was always a matter of being a cheapskate.
Water cooling was some sort of expensive enthusiast hobby when I was growing up.
Now that I'm older and I have some money and much more knowledge... I am giving it serious consideration.

In particular, I'm interested in exploiting natural convection of liquids to make a thermosiphon. Any experiences or reasons why I shouldn't bother and just go for a pump?

Pump will give you much better flow rates than any kind of convection current can give you. And you would quite literally need to bathe the entire system in a liquid for a good thermal convection current to carry heat away.

Look up the 3M Novec extreme cooling solutions forum. It only works because the 3M Novec has a relatively low boiling point. And you don't get much faster thermal convection currents than actually boiling it.

a modern CPU has the highest heat output density (watts/per square inch) among any electrical component in the world. a thermosiphon simply wont cut it. you need a much higher flow rate for it to be more effective than a regular, cheap, heatsink+fan combo.

now if you wanted to play with a thermosiphon for the sake of experimentation- sure. just dont expect it to be a nice easy bolt-on mod, and dont expect it to be able to match any of the more common cooling soloutions, performance-wise.

Hi,

There was a time when CPU heat output was lower and standard CPU water blocks design's were less restrictive than today. Even pumps were different. Pumps did not have had good head pressure as they do now days. Also they use to fail much more than today.