Embarrassed to ask...noob question re: OC vCore

Grentz

Fully [H]
Ok, I am not a complete noobie when it comes to overclocking but this question might seem like it (even though I have been doing it successfully for years). I really only get to play around with OCs on my own machine though so I dont get as much experience as other things that I am working on all the time.

Here is the question. In regards to vCore. If a processor is instable at a set FSB/Multi and vCore, will everything lower as far as vCore be instable as well?

Let me explain. Currently I run my e6600 at 2.8ghz (400x7) at 1.35v vCore. If for instance I boot it at 3.2ghz (400x8) and it is instable at 1.45v vCore does that mean that everything below that is also unstable and I need to go up? Or potentially is the vCore too high and making it unstable (is that possible?).

I just have never gotten clarification on that. I am working to get my e6600 stable above 3ghz now that I got a new P43 board that seems to have much less vdroop and runs 2.8ghz at a lower vCore, but still am having trouble getting it to be more than a few hours stable in prime and it fails linx after a few runs (2-4).

Also, any other suggestions? I really have not played with the pile of other voltage settings this new board has besides vCore and just am running my memory at stock timings/settings (DDR2800) though could probably push it a bit if need be as they are good sticks (OCZ Reaper HPC).

Ok, I am not a complete noobie when it comes to overclocking but this question might seem like it (even though I have been doing it successfully for years). I really only get to play around with OCs on my own machine though so I dont get as much experience as other things that I am working on all the time.

Here is the question. In regards to vCore. If a processor is instable at a set FSB/Multi and vCore, will everything lower as far as vCore be instable as well?