Coolant recommendation?

white_devil

Limp Gawd
I'm out of the coolant that came with my Mercury 3D case and the reservoir is running low so time to pick something up. Anyone point me in the right direction for some good coolant? How's THIS? Also, is untreated distilled water ok to flush the system with?

Thanks.

You linked to a coolant additive, but not a coolant.

Normally I'd use plain distilled water as my coolant. I put a silver "kill-coil" (just a strip of silver) in the reservoir as a biocide/fungicide. You can also add a few drops of an additional biocide to be safe (some people use PT nuke).

Aftermarket coolants can be used, but I generally wouldn't recommend them. They tend to gunk up the fine pin/fin patterns in modern high-performance blocks... either that or they leave a residue somewhere (or everywhere) else.

In the long run am I better off going with distilled water and silver over an additive like that?

ive been running tfc coolant in my rig for about 18 months and its still running fine

I second just using distilled water and fungicide. I use iodine in my system. Loop going strong for over 3 years. Probably flushed loop three times not because it needed it. I was upgrading gpus. No gunk or algae growth.

Your system has mixed metals as it has an alum rad. You must use a corrosion additive or pre mixed coolant. Just one of the draw backs in such a system.;)

Your system has mixed metals as it has an alum rad. You must use a corrosion additive or pre mixed coolant. Just one of the draw backs in such a system.;)

I absolutley agree. Unfortunately you have one of the few systems where it is absolutley critical to use coolant with a corrosion inhibitor. Typically these coolants are basically a 10% antifreeze 90% water mix. You could mix your own. Normally I do not recommend high priced or "speciality" coolants for normal all copper systems. But you do not fall into that catagory.

GBT Coolant
Available Now
GH-WPL01