broken laptop hinge

blade12

Limp Gawd
I have a laptop that has had broken hinge for 3 years now that makes it extremely tough to open and close it. I have been using it sometimes since then.

I made a thread here about 2.5 years ago, and somebody had mentioned to use JBweld back then. At the time, I didn't want to risk it since the hinge wasn't fully broke, but now the hinge is completely broken. Laptop just flops over when I open.. hinge does nothing to hold the screen open. It's time for JBWeld as my last option! The laptop still works good except for the damn hinge so I will just try JBWeld.

1) I noticed Amazon has different types of JBWeld. Is this okay?
2) Anyone ever come across a guide of others using JBWeld on a laptop? I googled it up, but don't see much. Do I just open up the laptop, use JBWeld on the hinge area like glue, then let it dry? I have never used JBWeld before.

The area below in red is broke.. That image is not specifically my laptop, but I have the same laptop shell from MSI. That hinge bar literally comes out :
1zzg67b.jpg

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
Harbor frieght sells plastic welders I think? not sure though havent been in a looong time

I think it's rather telling that when I read "broken hinges" a part of me wondered if it would be an MSI. Those things have been notorious for hinge failures. I've had 3 out of 4 MS-1651 (which it looks like yours is based off of), and a CR600 just flat out have the hinges fall apart, with one ripping the lid when it broke.

@BigTroll - where did you buy that plastic welder?

I think it's rather telling that when I read "broken hinges" a part of me wondered if it would be an MSI. Those things have been notorious for hinge failures. I've had 3 out of 4 MS-1651 (which it looks like yours is based off of), and a CR600 just flat out have the hinges fall apart, with one ripping the lid when it broke.

It's horrendous setup that defies logic.