backup for insurance agent

syn3rgyz

Gawd
My aunt is an insurance agent. She has a 4 year old PC that only uses IDE.
She has asked me to setup some sort of backup system for her, this is my first time doing this sort of thing and I'm not quite sure how to approach it. She wants a hard drive to store and backup her work documents(info on all her client). She also wants a separate harddrive to store her own personal stuff (pictures, videos from social events).

I'm thinking of upgrading her computer to support sata and ordering 4x 1tb sata drives.
- two of them are going to be internal, one for work one for personal.
- and two more will be for backup of work and personal which will be put into enclosures so it can be taken home from office.

The problems I'm thinking of include
- if i'm doing incremental and differential backup would it take a long time to the point where if she wanted to go home and take the enclosures with her she would have to wait a long time for the backup to finish?
- would going the usb 2.0 route to backup two drives be too slow and affect overall system performance? if so would usb 3.0 be better?
- what program should i use to set up scheduled backups?
- how should i approach creating a backup image of the computer itself and where should i store that image?

An external hardrive still has the problem of being in the same location if something catches on fire. Has she looked into any of the offsite backup solutions, granted those usually require a small subscription fee but it might be a worthwhile buisness expense for her. I know my parents use carbonite for their businesses but I think there are some other options out there.

The amount of time it takes to backup everything will be largely dependant on how much data she has to back up. If she is backing up 4 gigs then USB2 would be fine, if she is backing up 400gigs you might want usb3. However, if you want USB3 on a computer that old you will need to get a card that supports it.