RAID 0 Crashing Games

mInk3nine

Weaksauce
I just setup a RAID 0 array using two WD 80GB drives with 8MB cache. I'm using 64K clusters and all is fine until I run UT2K4. It crashed on both attempts to play it. First time on the ingame server browser and the second time it happened about 5 minutes into playing. Would you recommend decreasing the cluster size to 16K? I'm new to RAID so i'm not exactly sure how to fix this problem.

I just recieved my 160GB WD 8MB Cache as backup, and I installed both UT2K3 and UT2K4Demo on it and they run fine.

What could be causing these games to crash on the RAID array?

you mean stripe size?

Stripe
NTFS Cluster use \ FAT32 Cluster use \ Slack

while the RAID array may be the main change that has occured since the problem developed
it doesnt necessarilly follow its the cause, Id troubleshoot the crash like any other, starting with the Event Viewer, testing the memory, cleaning the registry, reloading drivers (vid chipset ect)

I have a SiI680 RAID0 (PCI card) with 2 WD 120GB SE drives (WD1200JB) and 64KB stripe size. The UT2004 demo plays fine off it and I like how load times are very fast. :D

Your RAID might be flaky. Be sure to back up anything important before you continue.

Er...stripe size...yes. Sorry, i'm new to this ;). Everything is backed up on my 160GB drive. I bought it so I wouldn't feel like i'm walking on egg shells.

I've used Sandra's Burn-in Wizard. I ran Prime95 last night and left it running for about 9 hours. Ran Diskspeed32 numerous times. No crashes. Everything seems fine. it's weird because the first night I loaded up UT2k4 it kept crashing. The next day I attempted it and I played for about a half hour before I got tired of playing and exited.

I guess I'll try reloading the chipset drivers...