i need help with bandwith monitoring

XLShadow

Weaksauce
i'm a college student and the lovely dorms provide me with a very sweet internet conection. Howerver, its is a mixed blessing they've setup a 1.5GB bandwith limit.

I've been looking (for quite some time now) a bandwith monitoring program. A quick search on google (a while ago) brought me to http://www.bandwidthmonitorpro.com/ and for a while i was happy.

It was just what i was looking for... for a while. The key features i liked was that it would disable my NIC once my set limit was reached. that and it would display numbers that i could understand ie MBs up and down. (call me a n00b or idiot, it still wont explain to me what a packet is...)

it turned bittersweet when it would hang my computer durning shutdown. i didn't notice this for a while because my computer never shuts down except for automatic self matinence (ie; virus update/scan, defrag... blah blah blah) I've since fixed this by tweeking windows to force the program to close during shutdown, but it still leaves me a bit unsettled. A program shouldn't be doing that.

then i noticed the amount of overhead the program takes up. (i'm a bit picky with my system resources. i run an alternate shell beacuse of this liteshell ) this is what prompted me (along with the 30day trial expiration) to uninstall the program and continue my search.

i dove into just about evey freeware link sites you can imagine. endless clicking and sifting from page to page finding nothing remotely close to what i want or need. Fed up with my fustration, i figured i'd give some fellow [H]-ers a call. I've read the networking FAQ and checked a few of the threads (the lovely search function is disabled, before that it was broken...) and now i am here.