home theater

eli

[H]ard|Gawd
I have a 29" sony WEGA tv. I am going to purchase a home theather sound system for it. I have up to $450 to spend on it. I would like to have a digital reciever with it because I do want to listen to the radio, and I will have headphones. What other purposes do the digital recievers have? i am extremely new in home theater systems...so bare with me....

thanks

$450 isn't really a lot to spend on a HT system. Especially if you want a really good one.

This is what I would recommend if your dead set on that price...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...73541&productCategoryId=cat03010&type=product

Though, if you were willing to flex about $50, I'd recommend this one, as it is a pretty damn good system. I almost bought it when I bought mine, but bought a boxed set of JBL speakers and a sub, and a reciever seperate. I made the right decision. :) More expensive, but well worth it! Anyways, here's that other system...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...14641&productCategoryId=cat03010&type=product

hey...thanks for your help! well, I am looking for something that can sound good with dvds, and music. I can spend $500 as well. I have a sony 28" WEGA with progressive scan and a panasonic combo drive. when I get my new system, I still want to be able to use the old player for videos...is this possible?

I could save a little bit more...or sell something on ebay to get better speakers..I wan't damn good sound. I hear about people who just get two "bookshelf" speakers and a digital reciever...would this work better? or do people usually get like five bookshelf speakers and a sub?

Also, since I can play music through the actual dvd player of the home theater system, what purpose would a digital reciever serve other then a headphone amp and a radio?

thanks a lot man!

eli said:
when I get my new system, I still want to be able to use the old player for videos...is this possible?