Help me choose a distro - requirements inside!

jmahler

Limp Gawd
please? :)

Here's the deal - I don't care how packages are handled. I would PREFER but NOT REQUIRE a source based distro. My main concern is hardware support... as in, OUT OF THE BOX WORKING. I don't care if i have to go back and update some of the drivers for 3d or whatever, but i don't want to have X crashing on me immediately or whatnot.

Here's my specs:
Chaintech Zenith 7NJS (nforce 2)
AMD Barton 2500 (well, at 3200, but shh....)
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
512 MB RAM
4x IDE drives
1x SATA drive
1x DVD-ROM
1x CD-RW

That's about it, really, what's important anyway.

I have had good experience with Mandrake in the past, but their support for ATI has blown chunks in the past - don't know if that's changed or not yet tho.

Any thoughts?

ATI supports sucks anyway, but that isn't the distro's fault. They are getting better, but I am a Linux noob and only have experimented with 2 different driver versions. Anyway, Gentoo might be a good choice to try. I have an Abit NF7-S w/ 2400+ and doing a Stage3 install detected all of my hardware from the get go.

Well, if you think you can handle a source-based distro, go for Gentoo.

If you want to make sure everything works 100% out of the box, go with LFS.
Just beware: if something doesn't work, you can't complain because there will be no one to blame except yourself. :p

I'll third that gentoo recommendation.

And yeah, Ati support in Linux isn't the greatest. You'll be able to set up most of the things in your comp, but might have some trouble with the ATi card.

Of course, I don't game in Linux, so I don't really care that my Radeon card doesn't have Direct Rendering enabled.

right then...
never used gentoo before (tho i like the idea of the source distro), how long will it take to compile a working x system? is this a weekend thing?