Bitcoin Debit card

Pitbully

[H]ard|Gawd
https://xapo.com/in/campaign/debit/

Anyone see this yet? Be pretty cool if they actually bring it to the market. Checking the site out I don't see any "Visa" or "Mastercard" logos anywhere yet, so I'm guessing its still in the planning stages, but it would be nice if it came to be. Just one more step for bitcoins becoming mainstream...

https://xapo.com/in/campaign/debit/

Anyone see this yet? Be pretty cool if they actually bring it to the market. Checking the site out I don't see any "Visa" or "Mastercard" logos anywhere yet, so I'm guessing its still in the planning stages, but it would be nice if it came to be. Just one more step for bitcoins becoming mainstream...

I'm a business owner. Why would I want to accept this? I already pay a fee to accept Visa/MC/Amex/Disc. Why do I need to take yet another card that will probably charge me ~2%?

This is a product that will probably never come to market full scale. There has to be a reason (more than just for the betterment of BTC in general) for merchants to go through the trouble of purchasing a terminal and accepting yet another card with a fee.

Edit:
Thinking about this a bit more, it would be good for me (merchant) if the BTC didn't have to go through xapo's hands at all. That way, as soon as a card is swiped, the BTC is deposited directly into my BTC wallet. That gives me quicker deposits times than using a traditional merchant service and it will remove the possibility of charge backs. Of course, if Xapo is going to charge a transaction fee like all other merchants, then the BTC is going to have to go through them somehow so that they can take their cut...

Last edited:
I love bitcoin -- big supporter and miner (at least alt-coins now)

but even I have to wonder about the block time and transaction speed. Point of sale in a retail world has to be truly instant.