mormok

n00b
Hi
Total newbie
We are faced with having to choose between these 2 cards:
ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX5600XT-T6G-GAMING GDDR6
or
ASRock Radeon RX 6800 Phantom Gaming D 16GB -NDA 25/11

- Asrock is approx. 70-80% more expensive. Is it worth the money ??

- Is it better to buy it a little cheaper and then upgrade in a few years ??

- Will the ASRock have a significantly longer shelf life in relation to which games can be played

It's probably mostly about value for money.

144 mhz screen
cpu AMD Ryzen 5 5600X. I think

Right now kid is playing
Sea of thieves
Satisfactory
Red dead redemption

Thanks in advance
Morten

Right now is literally the worst time to have to upgrade a gpu. Prices are stooooopid for even low end cards not to mention a 6800...get the 5600 if you have to get a card right now. Otherwise wait out the gpu shortage and wait until prices come back to sane levels. Unless of course youve found a sick deal on the 6800 or youve got money coming out of your ears...

Right now is literally the worst time to have to upgrade a gpu. Prices are stooooopid for even low end cards not to mention a 6800...get the 5600 if you have to get a card right now. Otherwise wait out the gpu shortage and wait until prices come back to sane levels. Unless of course youve found a sick deal on the 6800 or youve got money coming out of your ears...
No ears running with money.... The 6800 I have to pay 1000 usd for. Dont know if thats insane...?? Brand new.

Perhaps buy your kid an Xbox Series X and upgrade the PC later. Graphics cards are off the charts expensive right now (and unavailable) due to many things. Cryoto mining, Covid, everyone being stuck indoors.

A Xbox series X console at $500 is a heck of a value and almost the same speed as a 6800 based PC. The Xbox series X can also cross play with some games (console players can play with PC players) like Sea of Thieves for instance.