voltage question on 5800x

Cataulin

[H]ard|Gawd
Got a gigabyte Tuf Gaming wifi x570 board with a 5800x
The chip seems to spike randomly with temps and voltage. Im new to AMD outside of threadripper which never really overclocked well so Im just trying to get my bearings and havent touched anything yet. But this doesnt seem normal for any chip. it sits in the upper 30's with nothign running but starts to jump up just with chrome. I've seen it hit 90 before I disabled the " Extreme quiet" fan options but can still get to 88-9 while gaming.

Its been cooled by a MSI coreliquid 240r. Which works fine on a intel chip but I think just watching the voltage it plays a bigger part in this.

Thoughts, Ideas, directions?

Untitled.png

voltage spikes are ok. when the cores need to boost high, it will need the voltage. if you want to lower temps, you can use the curve optimizer.

Is that part of the ryzen software?
no its in your bios. make sure bios is up to date. there are some videos and things about curve optimizer. but my 5800x isn't stable at -30 like some are. I run it -16 for daily use. you'll know what that means once you read up on it.

Last edited: