Total Newb Asks: dremel case without removing motherboard first?

BenWah

Weaksauce
I've decided that the only part worth upgrading in my tiny Silverstone SG05 case is the video card.
Currently I have a 770gtx, which just barely fit without any case mod.
I anticipate buying a 1070 card that would be 10.5 inches, or 269mm.
I'm jumping the gun a bit by worrying about this before I've settled on the exact card, but humor me.

I've read many reports that this size card fits by simply taking a dremel to the front of the case.

Is it absolutely necessary to remove the motherboard before attempting this?

I'm guessing the tiny bits of metal from dremeling might short the hell out of the motherboard and other things.

Or is it trivial to protect the parts inside and just go for it?

Please forgive the naive question. I'd really like to keep the same case, and if possible avoid the hassle of removing and reinstalling everything (except vid card)

Also if anyone has a link to a newb-friendly dremel guide or this kind of SG05 mod please let me know.

You are quite correct in assuming that metal filings would short out your motherboard if they landed in the wrong place. While modern Motherboards are pretty well protected from average wear-and-tear, I wouldn't risk it; even if you planned to cover it in plastic wrap, just one wrong filing could ruin your board - not to mention any other components. I would not only take out your motherboard, but also any other exposed components you might have in there.

I don't have any experience with modding this case for this specific purpose, but my recommendations are thus:
  • Power off your computer and remove the power cable.
  • Open your case up and remove your motherboard, RAM, Processor, Video Card, and your Power Supply - and any other exposed components like hard drives, fan controllers, and optical drives.