Quick question on tip needed while installing my ram waterblock....

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
I have this bitspower wb (https://www.performance-pcs.com/wat...m-water-cooling-module-ddr5-single-sided.html) coming for my 7600Gskills monday and was just thinking out all possible issues prior to installation. Concern im having is do i apply thermal grease or thermal pad ontop of each ram heatsink so it can touch the base of waterblock? directions dont say anything of the sort but i find it hard to believe the waterblock just sits on top of the module sinks with NO interface material.... Anyone have input? Thank you

2EE_BiIqjcX-2NMAOlps-RRzaQ=w702-h936-no?authuser=0.jpg

I'm no expert, but that seems to me like it's just for looks. RAM dies do not get anywhere to considerably hot while in operation, so watercooling them might just be for looks.

Am I crazy or wrong here?

wrong.. A-Die mem get very warm...
The blocks need thermal pads to work properly. It's disappointing to see that they come bare. I would be loathe to use them without. Try measuring the thickness of the pads on the gskill sinks and go from there. I would also mimic the foam strip they used under the ics.

The blocks need thermal pads to work properly. It's disappointing to see that they come bare. I would be loathe to use them without. Try measuring the thickness of the pads on the gskill sinks and go from there. I would also mimic the foam strip they used under the ics.