Query ~ Your alternative to eBay for Sellers?

Lumpus

Limp Gawd
Sorry if this the wrong place for this, but it seems pertinent...

I've been selling on eBay for just over twenty years now (not tech stuff) and it seems that nearly every year eBay does something to make the buyer/seller relationship worse - and increasingly dysfunctional. Small sellers always seem to take it up the rear the most. Currently, eBay is now trying to shove 30-day Free Returns (for any reason) or else pay extra fees. Also, I've noticed that when I check my eBay Store I often see ads and products from other sellers "eBay recommends"- in my own store!

Now I only rarely sell anything tech, or high dollar value, so my fraud level was nearly zero... about one fraudulent return a year, perhaps. But as soon as I listed a dozen or so used computer parts, it seemed that half of the buyers were scammers. I was burned twice in a row for "Item not received" and Paypal refunded both of them, immediately, despite my proofs of delivery and an email from one of the scammers bragging to me about how he'd screwed me! Neither eBay or Paypal cared... the buyer is always right, even when they're obviously wrong.

This suggests more than strongly to me that it's now open season on Sellers on eBay and we're totally screwed and without any sort of protection anymore :(

How are you poor tech sellers dealing with all of this? At least I've only lost a few relatively lower value items, but this sort of thing must really hurt for higher value sale items. What's a decent selling alternative now - Amazon, Bonanza?

Last edited: