Powerconnect 3548 questions

TeK-FX

Limp Gawd
I am new to managed switches and have a few questions regarding the Powerconnect 3548.

We are a small machining business and we recently acquired a new Wire EDM machine that has the ability to keep track of water quality, remaining wire, machine efficiency, etc via a web/mobile device interface. I did not want to put this on the same VLAN as our main network so I successfully created a new one. The few questions I have are:

There are 3 other VLANs currently setup with 10.255.10.1, 10.255.9.1 and 10.255.8.1 all using the firewall as the gateway. I would like to setup this new VLAN (10.255.7.1) to do the same. I just cannot seem to find the correct command for setting the gateway. I do have the MAC of the firewall device.

Once in the console I did :

Sw4_Prod_PoE# config
Sw4_Prod_PoE(config)# int vlan 40
Sw4_Prod_PoE(config-if)# ip address 10.255.7.1 18:B1:69:19:AE:68
% bad parameter value
Sw4_Prod_PoE(config-if)# ip address 10.255.7.1 255.255.255.0 18:B1:69:19:AE:68
% Wrong number of parameters or invalid range, size or characters entered
Sw4_Prod_PoE(config-if)#

Showing the ARP table only shows the following:

Sw4_Prod_PoE# show arp

ARP timeout: 60000 Seconds

VLAN Interface IP address HW address status
--------------------- --------------- ------------------- ---------------
vlan 20 g4 10.255.9.1 18:b1:69:19:ae:68 dynamic

Could I run something like:

arp 10.255.7.1 vlan 40 18:B1:69:19:AE:68

I was not sure if this would strip away the assignment to 10.255.9.1 and end up breaking things.

My next question after that is how do I restrict this VLAN from other VLANs on the network but still allow it unrestricted access to the internet?