mining on a server running a NAS and other stuff?

olav

n00b
Hey!
so i have a server running a NAS and a minecraft server plus some other stuff. Now im simply wondering if i can purchase a GPU for this server and mine strictly on this GPU without affecting the other components of the server. I still want to run my NAS and minecraft server, but i want to run this only on the CPU, and the miner only on the GPU. is this possible? my server is runnning windows server, and has a 650W powersupply. it dows not have a GPU yet, but im in the process of buying a RTX 3090. Will a miner even run on a windows server? (windows server 2012).

PS: i have no experience with mining, but have quite some experience with computers and have a general understanding of crypto.

yup its easily possible. including the os. I used to mine on 2012 r2. nvidia drivers can be abit of a pain you will have to force the driver installation through device manager.

Hey!
.... and has a 650W powersupply.....

PS: i have no experience with mining, but have quite some experience with computers and have a general understanding of crypto.

if you will be under clocking the 3090 that is probably fine. a better PSU would be a good investment with a 3090 connected though.

if you will be under clocking the 3090 that is probably fine. a better PSU would be a good investment with a 3090 connected though.
I would be curious to know exactly whatpsu. My 560w supermicro server supplies can run 560-600w continually and I tend to use them pretty heavily. He may be sitting at less then 200w for the rest of the system leaving 450w for the gpu.

I would be curious to know exactly whatpsu. My 560w supermicro server supplies can run 560-600w continually and I tend to use them pretty heavily. He may be sitting at less then 200w for the rest of the system leaving 450w for the gpu.