Microsoft cancels "new" console

Your feeling on cloud means nothing. It will happen. It will be forced down our throats and won't have a choice.
I'm not worried about that. The way games are going I welcome going back to older games. In fact, one could say I'm a pro at it. Considering that most studios don't want to touch single players games with a 10 foot pole, and all multiplayer games are now live services, I'm not worried avoiding this cloud gaming inevitable future. Most likely this will just end up like the Metaverse. Expensive, unwanted, and will likely lose millions of dollars in stock value.

Considering that most studios don't want to touch single players games with a 10 foot pole
This isn't even remotely true. The overwhelming majority of games released in a year are SP. You just have to look a tiny bit past the usual 25 big name titles each year. Coincidentially, the games I'm referring to would work pretty well on a cloud-back service, given their reduced sensitivity to latency.
I think cloud gaming as a first party or "normal" is an eventual future, but, I think it's a fair distance away. I've done a fair bit of gaming via streaming from one local (or local-adjacent) device to another and that was a fun experience, especially for party games.

Having a viable way to pay for the game once and use is on streaming and local hardware is also something Microsoft could probably do that Google didn't do.

The problem is licensing as this is still a problem for Nvidia's Geforce Now, as well as Microsoft's backwards compatibility for the Xbox Series consoles.
Licensing hasn't been a big barrier, that I am aware. Most of Xbox Gamepass, is streamable, if you subscribe to gamepass ultimate. I'm sure there are some games left out. But its not many. And MS owns so many studios now----it kinda doesn't matter if a couple of games are left out?-----they have a lot of good gaming content, one way or another.

They need to make a streaming only subscription.