m34wq, m32u or ???

lRaphl

Weaksauce
I'm looking into consolidating my work setup with my home setup by using only one monitor. I'm looking for one with a KVM in order to use only one keyboard and one mouse.

My current work setup is a laptop into a dock station that connects everything together. I currently use two 22" HP LA2205wg monitor. Image quality isn't great and resolution is only 1680x1050.

For my home setup, I have a 24" Samsung SyncMaster 245B with a resolution of 1920x1200. Got it in 2007 or something like that.

I normally keep my monitors until they die but in this case I will give my old Samsung to the kid and bring back the HPs at work. Message here is that I will keep this new monitor for a LONG time. My aging home computer only has an AMD R9 390 video card so driving 4K gaming is out of question for now but I will upgrade to a new rig before the end of the year. Being future proof in term of resolution could be a plus.

HDR performance has no value to me at all. I always tone down the brightness of my monitors because it just hurt my eyes. I also generaly increase the contrast a bit compared to stock setting. As I can understand, monitors now have a lot more settings to fiddle with. My use case will be set it and forget it. I want it to give me the best experience for work and gaming comes second but still needs to be good. I want it FLAT, not curved. Working in Excel or Autocad looks like a nightmare with curved screen. I generally play in a well lit room so perfect black like with OLED or such is not mandatory. Perfect color accuracy would be nice but 2-3% off won't break the deal. I wan't something that will give me at least the height of a 27" 16:9 screen.