In the middle of work deadline, need a work MOBO ASAP, what to buy?

professional loser

Limp Gawd
Hi, I am a 3d artist and was using Asus Dark Hero$$ MOBO with AMD 5950X.
1 month ago the Ethernet port failed and just now the MOBO has failed with "4D" error. CPU red light on the MOBO is on too. I am in the middle of a project, so no time to do deep research as I need to assemble it fast by Monday :-(
I might pick a 5900x or 5950x, but I need to pair it with a MOBO, any solid reliable MOBO you can recommend? Two Ethernet ports would be nice too.

Any input?

ASUS ROG STRIX X570-E GAMING WIFI II​

MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI​

ASUS ProArt X570-Creator WiFi​

ASUS Rog Crosshair VIII Hero WI-FI​

Last edited:
I'm not having any trouble with an Asus ROG Strix B550. That's just one sample though. I've read good things about the X570 Tomahawk; if it has the features you need, I'd say go for that one.

Also a vote to stay clear of Asus. Switched to a MSI tomahawk also.
ASUS has truly bad customer service. However, their boards are very robust and the BIOS is updated frequently. So I don't think it's that black and white.

Do you need to get a new CPU? Can you just move the CPU from the failed board to the new one? RAM? Cooler?

Is your old board under warranty? You may as well send it in.

ASUS has truly bad customer service. However, their boards are very robust and the BIOS is updated frequently. So I don't think it's that black and white.

Do you need to get a new CPU? Can you just move the CPU from the failed board to the new one? RAM? Cooler?

Is your old board under warranty? You may as well send it in.

Well this morning the PC is booting (no 4d error, like last night). wtf? Can't trust this MOBO, ethernet port stopped working last month too.

MSI Tomahawk, I need to update the BIOS for it to work with 5900x/5950x, correct? Liek this-
https://www.mbreviews.com/update-msi-x570-bios-amd-zen3/