good Antivirus software that doesn't hog resources

Status
Not open for further replies.

nst6563

2[H]4U
Can anyone recommend me some decent Antivirus software that isn't a friggin' resource hog like McAfee? I've been using McAfee for the last 5 years (because I get it free from where I work) but each release gets worse and uses more resources than before.

Example (all of these are loaded and visible in TaskManager..if some are disabled or killed, the system then acts squirly):
Mcaffe FrameWork service : 5.2Mb
Mcshield : 25.04Mb
shstat : .5Mb
UpdaterUI : 1.59Mb
VsTskMgr: .5Mb

Total memory used is 32Mb...just for the damn virus scanner to be in the background.

I've read good reviews of BitDefender and PC Cillin, but can someone give some more insight please?

I'd recommend TrendMicro 2005. Looking at the amount of memory the program uses isn't a good comparison in my eyes. I've used Norton for several years and it used around 25MB of RAM. Currently I'm using TrendMicro Security suite and the whole thing is using around 50MB. The big difference is that the code doesn't run like a bloated pig like the rest of them, the program itself is very responsive and it doesn't slow me down on the with the stuff I want to run.

You can snag a legit copy off of ebay for around $19 too.

I second Trend Micro PC-Cillin IS 2005. It's the best AV software I have used. I have switched all of my systems to it with no issues.

Thanks for the replies. I'll give PC Cillin a shot then. I looked at their site...do they have an option to not use the other features and just use the antivirus? I've already got a hardware firewall, a software firewall (linux router), spam filters, ad filters, etc on a seperate machine (linux router...gotta love linux).

BitDenfender. had no problems with it since i installed it.i had problems with Trend,Mcafffe,Norton and Panda.