Generally speaking. CAT 6 vs 7

Liver

Supreme [H]ardness
Disregarding the material cost difference of the CAT 6 vs CAT 7. For 1000 feet rolls, the 7 is a bit more than twice the price of the 6. So disregard that specific issue (I’m not trivializing that issue though, it’s a known variable).

Is there any reason not to go with 7? New construction, labor is the real cost. Labor cost is same if it’s 6 or 7.

I can go with 8. That does bump up the price significantly. I am not doing fiber.

Just go with with CAT 7.

Reason I’m asking is because someone (yes, on the internet) told me the CAT7 cable can be detrimental because it has additional shielding.

I’m no engineer, but that seems to be completely wrong.

to quote another user
You’re having a hard time finding a (cheap) Cat 7 panel because it was universally hated and practically no one used it for networking. EIA/TIA never even recognize the standard for any use.

Cat 7 requires each pair to be shielded from end to end, so special connectors (GG45, ARJ45, or TERA) are required. If terminated with traditional 8p8c (a.k.a. RJ45) ends, it’ll perform no better then Cat 6a. As with any shielded cable, performance can be severely impacted if not installed correctly.

Looks like your only real option is a keystone panel and jacks. You’re still going to have a hard time finding switches, routers, and NICs that are designed for Cat7. So they’ll still just end up with an expensive Cat 6a network.

My only reason to go with CAT 7 was the additional shielding and potentially more robust cable. I wasn’t looking for more speed (per se), just longevity of the install.

Lord willing, this is my last house.

No other reason.

Is it worth the expense going to CAT8. I don’t want the expense, but will consider it if y’all think I should.

Edit. Right now it’s easy to install. Once it’s all done, it’ll be virtually impossible to fix with ripping stuff up and the associated costs.

Last edited:
Cat 6, or, at the most Cat 6a.