Finally migrating all my games to SSDs from spinners

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,789
I have enough SSD space for all my games and future games have 8.5 TB SSD space thinking of buying another 2TB but alot of motherboards
only takes X3 on the board but mine has X4. What I was doing in the past was putting frequently played games on the SSDs.
I would put games on the SSD that I would actually want to play then put other games on the HDD or spinner But not anymore I have all my games on SSDs have about 70 games installed in the process right now moving games from a 6TB Hitachi HDD to a older 870 QVO Samsung which were games I never gave the light of day. I'm going to transfer my epic games there as well. M.2 NVME Gen 3 drives are nothing short of amazing I really like them that I bought X3 of them all Samsungs so they don't die on me. I tranfered like x10 UBI games in like 14 minutes or so it would of been faster but they were on a regular Sata SSD.
 
Last edited:

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,976
That's fair. I guess I assumed as much. I get anxiety thinking about having so many games installed, i'd lose track of them all. I also rarely play more than 2-3 games at a time.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
29,733
Slow internet basically where it takes hours to download something like a 40 GB game.
That isn't slow internet. Just plan to download what you want to play when you go to do something else. Queue up your downloads for when you're at work, for example, or have them run while you sleep. I usually only have 4-6 games installed at a time outside those on my "always installed" list. All my vintage games are on my spinner and backed up on an external drive.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
59,567
I used to run insane amounts of storage relative to what most machines would have at a given time. I have a fast internet connection and have had Gigabit internet for years. At present, I run about 3TB of SSD storage and just delete games when I'm not using them and redownload them when I want them. I do have a 6TB mechanical drive, but it just stores documents, pictures and things like that. I haven't used mechanical drives for games since Arkham Knight came out and wouldn't work properly from one.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
8,954
That isn't slow internet. Just plan to download what you want to play when you go to do something else. Queue up your downloads for when you're at work, for example, or have them run while you sleep. I usually only have 4-6 games installed at a time outside those on my "always installed" list. All my vintage games are on my spinner and backed up on an external drive.
I'll be legit, I'm spontaneous when it comes to gaming. For instance, reference the thread I had about the wife wanting to play a game or whatever.

She decided on fallout 4 for the Xbox. Luckily I bought the game about 800 years ago on disc but never installed it. Took 2 hours to install.

Hard pass. I am trying to align myself with what the OP says about time. If I bought the digital game I could have been playing in minutes, but with slow disk access, it's slow as molasses, like his welfare internet.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
29,733
I'll be legit, I'm spontaneous when it comes to gaming. For instance, reference the thread I had about the wife wanting to play a game or whatever.

She decided on fallout 4 for the Xbox. Luckily I bought the game about 800 years ago on disc but never installed it. Took 2 hours to install.

Hard pass. I am trying to align myself with what the OP says about time. If I bought the digital game I could have been playing in minutes, but with slow disk access, it's slow as molasses, like his welfare internet.
Fallout 4 at 28.21 GB on the Xbox would take a little over 2.5 hours to download over a 25 Mbps connection, which is the broadband standard in the US. You didn't save much time by installing it from the disc.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
8,954
Fallout 4 at 28.21 GB on the Xbox would take a little over 2.5 hours to download over a 25 Mbps connection, which is the broadband standard in the US. You didn't save much time by installing it from the disc.
I have gigabit internet. I would have downloaded it in minutes.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,976
I have gigabit internet. I would have downloaded it in minutes.
Kind of where I am. I'll delete things on a whim that i'm not playing and if I do, start the download and go make some food. It'll be done when I get back. Hell even something stupid like Warzone that's 200GB.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
29,733
I have gigabit internet. I would have downloaded it in minutes.
I see. Regardless of the "you" reference in my reply, if your internet meets the FCC definition of broadband then by all accounts it isn't really slow compared to installing from disc. I don't know if Comix ever mentioned his internet provider and speed, though he seems to be able to indulge himself a lot despite working for Walmart. If he has Comcast the cheapest speed they offer now is 50 Mbps. With their burst speed it would probably take around 1.5 hours to download a 40GB game, which isn't bad.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
8,954
I see. Regardless of the "you" reference in my reply, if your internet meets the FCC definition of broadband then by all accounts it isn't really slow compared to installing from disc. I don't know if Comix ever mentioned his internet provider and speed, though he seems to be able to indulge himself a lot despite working for Walmart. If he has Comcast the cheapest speed they offer now is 50 Mbps. With their burst speed it would probably take around 1.5 hours to download a 40GB game, which isn't bad.
He is probably in the slow or low end of broadband I would wager. Said a 40gb game would take hours. So I get your side. Be safe.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,999
I just bought 2 Samsung NVMe drives on a black friday sale for my next build. The Asus mobo I wanted to get is out of stock atm, may go the TUF route now that I have NVMe drives to replace some of my smaller sata SSD's so I could go with only 4 sata connectors.

I also switch a lot between different games and my internet while by now means slow is not that fast that I want to wait for a game to finish downloading, think I have around 60-70 games isntalled atm, but a bunch of them are pretty small.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2,856
That's fair. I guess I assumed as much. I get anxiety thinking about having so many games installed, i'd lose track of them all. I also rarely play more than 2-3 games at a time.
Same. And typically I uninstall stuff after I've beaten it. I've left crap installed for much longer don't get me wrong, but 8TB? lol.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,789
What’s your internet speed, OP?
Faster than Ultra Tacos but not by much I get 2.1 megs max with the old wiring in Steam.
It's still good enough for Call of Duty Vanguard one of these days it won't be.
I could upgrade to Comcast but the complaints are full force Xfinity or whatever.

I'll play a game say in 2018 I wont' get back to it 4 years later so having the game installed might mean I have the Save EXE. still
out there if there wasn't a cloud sync. I backup every save unless it's something like Outriders where you can't.
 

Shoganai

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
1,337
Faster than Ultra Tacos but not by much I get 2.1 megs max with the old wiring in Steam.
It's still good enough for Call of Duty Vanguard one of these days it won't be.
I could upgrade to Comcast but the complaints are full force Xfinity or whatever.

I'll play a game say in 2018 I wont' get back to it 4 years later so having the game installed might mean I have the Save EXE. still
out there if there wasn't a cloud sync. I backup every save unless it's something like Outriders where you can't.
I’d rather have fast internet from a crappy ISP (like I have now) than crappy internet in general. That is seriously atrocious.
 
Last edited:

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,789
It's suppose to be faster for what I pay for. I think it' just the wiring that goes though the house maxes at that.
 

Shoganai

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
1,337
It's suppose to be faster for what I pay for. I think it' just the wiring that goes though the house maxes at that.
I’d check into your other ISP to see if they have anything to say about that. Or your current ISP. Something is very wrong with 2 Mbps in 2021.
 

kaneO

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2021
Messages
131
That isn't slow internet. Just plan to download what you want to play when you go to do something else. Queue up your downloads for when you're at work, for example, or have them run while you sleep. I usually only have 4-6 games installed at a time outside those on my "always installed" list. All my vintage games are on my spinner
Sorry bud IMHO 40Mbps is slow. My cell phone is faster than 40 lol. I do think it's best to just download 5-6 games at a time that's what I do.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
59,567
It's suppose to be faster for what I pay for. I think it' just the wiring that goes though the house maxes at that.
Coax can carry more bandwidth than that and CAT5e sure as hell can. I've never seen a house wired with older standards than that and still have actual network jacks.
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,812
I have comcast and 1.2Gb internet (maxes out around 980mb/s, likely due to equipment on my end.). Honestly, despite how terrible comcast can be - and they truly can be. Once you get things setup and stable it's pretty damn good. I have all of my own equipment and only had to deal with them for setting it up and then again for removing that fucking data cap limit.

I also have older Coax cables but I installed a signal amplifier:
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0792PTCFP?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details
near where the cable enters the house...
Then I used a Moca Filter
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00KO5KHSQ?ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details&th=1
Right before the splitter and my correct/uncorrectables dropped to about 1/10th what they used to be and my internet is awesomely stable now.

Anyway, I have about 10TB of games installed and it's accelerated by a 1TB NVME 4.0 SSD via primocache. Works absolutely amazing for me and allows me to have my cake (installed games) and eat it too. (Super fast load times, even faster than SSD due to Ramcache.)

I could delete and reinstall games on a whim, but... I don't wanna. Simple as that.
 
Last edited:

Ranulfo

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
2,610
I have to ask, why so many games installed all at the same time?

I don't want to wait to re-download 50+ GB and there is this thing called bandwidth caps, 1.2TB per month. With 1gigbit net speeds (Steam seems to only give me 500-600mbit aka 50 MB/s downloads these days) I can hit my cap in 8 or so hours. Its nice to redownload 300GB in 2 hours, its also nicer to be able to just play a game. Some games work fine from hard drive, some are better on ssd. SSD's still cost a fair amount of cash compared to hard drives and game installs keep going up and up in size. 1TB ssd's and even 2TB ones fill up quickly. One of my machines is rocking 3.5TB of ssd space for games and I probably have only 1TB left. If you don't want some game updates to take 30-60mins, you keep an SSD with 200-300GB empty at all times. There are far too many games these days on Steam that require the whole install to be copied, then patched then copied back over to the original install space.

Thankfully Steam and other clients make it mostly easy to move game installs around.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
29,733
Faster than Ultra Tacos but not by much I get 2.1 megs max with the old wiring in Steam.
It's still good enough for Call of Duty Vanguard one of these days it won't be.
I could upgrade to Comcast but the complaints are full force Xfinity or whatever.

I'll play a game say in 2018 I wont' get back to it 4 years later so having the game installed might mean I have the Save EXE. still
out there if there wasn't a cloud sync. I backup every save unless it's something like Outriders where you can't.
You can ask your ISP to come to your home/domicile to check the wiring and fix it if need be. I needed to do that to my apartment when I was going to university and it fixed all of our connection issues.
 

t1337duder

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
230
Most games run about the same off my spinners. Seems like an extreme case of diminishing returns (especially when you can have all your games stored on a cheap drive which can be quickly transferred to the SSD). But hey, it's fun to throw lots of money at a little amount of convenience or to appease gaming ADD.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,789
Once upon a time there was a game called Planetside 2 which really benefited from a SSD drive. HDD it would take about 2-3 minutes to load.
 

Axman

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
10,727
But hey, it's fun to throw lots of money at a little amount of convenience or to appease gaming ADD.

Diminishing returns hits between NVME and SATA. But if I could have all my stuff on NVME, I would. We're [H]ard, not nconcerned about small gains.
 
  • Like
Reactions: T4rd
like this

Eulogy

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
2,511
I have 4TB of nVME storage on my desktop. Active games kept there. On my storage server (120TB), I keep all my other games that don't current fit or aren't being played. When I wanna move it, I have 10G to the server on my gaming desktop, so it just takes a few minutes in most cases. Not sure how much total my library is, but, I think it'd all fit in 8TB total. You must have an absolute shit load of games.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
29,733
Diminishing returns hits between NVME and SATA. But if I could have all my stuff on NVME, I would. We're [H]ard, not nconcerned about small gains.
Don't know about that. Have been recently noticing some performance deficits in newer games when installed on one of my 850 Pro versus my 970 Pro or SN750.
 
Top