ESX VM's backup to tape library

syn3rgyz

Gawd
I'm trying to backup VM's that are stored on both local storage and SANs to a dell powervault tl2000. I was asked to do this yesterday, and before that I have never seen a tape drive/library in my life. I'm pretty new to VM's but from googling stuff it seems like ESX does not support directly connecting a tape drive and backing up data.

we are currently running ESX 3.01 using a very simple setup with no Vcenter or anything and I suggested that we should upgrade to 3.5 or 4.0, but they don't have any backups at all of the VM's. Would anyone here suggest some ways to get the VM's onto the tl2000 and if its possible to schedule backups after upgrading ESX?

Another question I have is will it be alright to just upgrade ESX instead of doing a fresh install to keep the configurations and user account infos and would an upgrade affect/wipe out the VM's stored in the local array?

Last edited:
nope not backing up any other servers, we have 2 ESX boxes for a dev and test environment. Someone before me was managing the boxes but he left the company a while ago, i noticed that some of the VM's has Veritas Netbackup installed but not all.

3.0.1 is EOS, just so you know... :)

VCB would work, direct to the hosts. Export them as v.appliances would work to a desktop.

ESX itself has no backup software built in, and there's no scheduling built in - I suggest VCB with something like netbackup or the like :)

if I use VCB would I have to get another server to run it? or can I just run it in a VM on one of the ESX boxes, but wouldnt that making restoring complicated?

Does netbackup only backup data on the VM's or it can do full backup of the VM image itself. Would be great if you can link to some guides I can look at.

The powervault is connected to the network through a CAT cable, I assume its not possible for the tape to be connected to the host through the network?